American Bald Eagles at Semiahmoo Park

My favorite place to birdwatch is at Semiahmoo Park in Blaine, Washington.  It is designated an important stop on the Pacific Flyway.  Right now, the Spring migratory season is just beginning, which gives me the possibility of seeing migrating birds that are not local.  Yesterday, I took some my favorite photos ever, which I will post over time.

What made a big impression on me was an extremely large juvenile eagle who was planted on the top of a newly installed tree stump placed next to a walking trail. I have never had an eagle look at me in such a hostile, menacing manner, and so closely monitor my movement without attempting to fly away to another tree.  I took China tightly on her lease and walked by as quickly as as I could.

The juvenile eagle is the dark one….it takes 3 years for a bald eagle to fully develop a while crown.  There are also photo’s  of an adult eagle that I took on a previous trip…standing on a tree right outside the woman’s restroom.  I was startled to see an eagle so close, and it took off shortly thereafter.youngeagle4youngeagle3americaneagle1

2 Responses to American Bald Eagles at Semiahmoo Park

  1. RaiulBaztepo says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  2. PiterKokoniz says:

    Hello !!!! 🙂
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you!
    Your Piter

Leave a comment